History of FLEX

FLEX is what Net Objectives considers to be the best approach at present to achieve business agility, the quick realization of business value predictably, sustainably, and with high quality. It is always being updated. It is based on insights from key thought leaders.

FLEX is not a framework because frameworks tend to limit practices that can fit into the framework. FLEX expands as we learn more about the methods we are using.

FLEX was created as a sequence of learning the following:

  1. Systems-thinking
  2. Double-loop learning
  3. Respecting people
  4. The right mindset is critical
  5. Lean thinking
  6. Lessons from Scrum and Kanban
  7. Solving the dilemma that people need both a well specified starting point (that is tailored for them since no one-size fits all) as well as a way to go beyond that as they learn
  8. Making the best use of capacity we must ensure we are working on the most important things that will maximize business value
  9. Focusing on business value facilitates achieving alignment
  10. Management’s role is to create an ecosystem within which teams can self-organize to achieve the goals of the organization
  11. Bottom-up coordination is not effective

For more, see the history of FLEX from quotes and insights.

People whose insights are in FLEX

Al Shalloway is often given credit for concepts and ideas that came from others in his organization. While Al has integrate the concepts into FLEX, most of the critical ones have come from Alan Chedalawada (MBIs and most of the business driven aspects of FLEX) and Guy Beaver (the guardrails and different ways of managing WIP).  Scott Bain, Luniel DeBeer and Jim Trott have also made major contributions.

FLEX is also based on the work of the following (in alphabetical order): Christopher Alexander, David Anderson, Kent Beck, Jim Benson, Stephen Bungay, Ward Cunningham, Edwards Demming, Steve Denning, Fernando Flores, Martin Fowler, John Gall, Israel Gat, Eli Goldratt, Ron Jeffries, Daniel Jones, Amir Kolsky, Corey Ladas, David Mann. Robert Martin. Ikujio Nonaka. Dan North. Taiichi Ohno, Mary Poppendieck, Tom Poppendieck, Ken Pugh, Don Reinertsen, Virginia Satir, Peter Scholtes, Ken Schwaber, Karl Scotland, Peter Senge, Jeff Sutherland, James Womack